What I have learned on twitter

"I joined Twitter in 2017, I can't tell you what I have learned since then, but I can tell you what I have learned in the past 4 months".

that was a tweet from one of the people I follow, and I so much relate to it that I changed the dates and timeline to suit my own experience.

Twitter to me is an open-source and free University with lots of content and direction to learn from. What I like most about Twitter is the awesome tech community and their want/need to share everything they are learning, where they are learning from, and the available resources, Twitter Tech community they call it. I use the word "want/need" because everyone does it, to gain followers and as well show the world that you learned a skill and can be employed. I joined Twitter in 2017, laughing at memes, retweeting and liking people's tweets, for four good years I had all these resources and the best place to learn from in the palm of my hands and I never bothered to explore it; Ignorance is bliss, I was running around with no care in the world and I could have learned a lot in the four years, I feel bad for myself sometimes, But I have already started the journey and hope it will be sweeter and worth it at the end. I could have gained a lot of followers too in the four years for someone who spent a lot of hours on Twitter. Am glad am learning now, am learning Frond-End web development, currently enrolled at aptlearn.io, taking on their Front-End web development course for free, comprising of HTML, CSS, and Javascript with detailed learning and examples.

And now I can tell you what I have learned on Twitter over the past four months. I started following Agba Akin when he tweeted about coding, Immediately I was drawn to the world of coding and for the first time I felt I belonged to something special as tech. I turned on his notifications and followed wherever he would tweet about coding and finally, he started giving coding lessons using the Twitter thread. I followed all his lessons on the threads and spaces he would schedule for his learners. He is a really big inspiration to me to learn to code, I enrolled in his online learning platform aptlearn.io to continue with my coding Journey. He gave the best CSS lessons and made it so easy to understand, Especially CSS neumorphism. The great Bonnie introduce me to technical writing, He tweeted about it and luckily it came to my timeline, He had made over 600 dollars within a month from technical writing, being an African 24-year old that's a lot of money to me, and could set me up to my journey of becoming a full-time front-end web developer and App making. He listed sites that pay for technical writing and the best way to get into technical writing. Like I said before, I want to be a pro in front-End web development and App making, I pray it comes through for me. The road map to front-end web development (building websites) is.

  • HMTL5
  • CSS
  • Javascript.

These are the languages used in front-end web development or building, beyond the languages is the web framework. Web frameworks according to educative.io make the development and integration of front-end and back-end web development (programming easier) A web framework is a package of files and folders of standardized code which can be used as a basis to start building a site. The most common frameworks available to front-end web developers are;

  • Angular
  • React.js
  • Vue.js
  • Bootstrap
  • Semantic UI I have learned HTML5 and all or most of its elements, and I can say I have exhausted it. On the other hand with CSS I have learned and am still learning. Concurrently learning Javascript for the past one month, I can't tell you off head what I have learned or what I know in Javascript, But I know it will be worth it at the end of it all.

So far CSS is the best, because of its out of the world concept, I can literally create anything with CSS, There is no limit to what you can do with CSS, from creating funny emoji faces to working on projects such as a wall clock with CSS animation, bouncing ball, CSS glassmorphism to create awesome 3D projects though am still learning CSS. I have written about some of the projects I have made using CSS on my hashnode blog page. I keep some of my projects on my code pen too you can check it out at Mycodepen.

App development. Android App development has a way longer road map for it, but not too worry though don't be exhausted by the long list learn the basics and start working on some projects, Pick a language;

  • Kotlin
  • Java However, Google announced in 2019 that the preferred language for Android application development is "Kotlin", Try to make kotlin the first language of your choice for Android application development.

For the fundamentals, you will need to install the android studio application and learn the basics of Kotlin to get started, including

  • Kotlin Docs
  • Data structures and algorithms
  • Kotlin Data structures Version control systems. Version control systems allow us to record changes to the codebase and allow recalling specific versions later. there are a lot of multiple versions control systems available though GIT is the most common these days.

Building the application I am going to give you an exhaustive list of what you need for building an application and you don't need to know everything from the get-go, get an idea of the basics and start building applications, the rest will smoothen out soon.

  • Using Activities and Activity lifecycles
  • Building flexible interfaces using fragments
  • Debugging using Android studio debugger
  • Security
  • Testing
  • Dagger
  • Content providers
  • 3rd party libraries
  • components and their usage
  • Java/ Kotlin
  • Handling App configurations
  • Using Intents
  • Understand context
  • Learn multi-threading.

And that's all for all Application building.

Resources roadmap.com educative.io Mycodepen

This is my learning Journey to Application building and Front-End web development, They say there is a lot of cash in Tech, but I haven't started earning though I hope I will soon.